The National Open University was initially established on 22 July 1983 as springboard for open and distance learning in Nigeria. It was suspended by the government on 25 April 1984. However, its resuscitation was begun on the 12th of April 2001 by the former President of Nigeria, Gen. Olusegun Obasanjo. At take off of the university, pioneer student enrollment stood at 32,400.

The National Open University of Nigeria is a Federal Open and Distance Learning (ODL) institution, the first of its kind in the West African sub-region. It is Nigeria's largest tertiary institution in terms of student numbers and is popularly referred to as 'NOUN'

There has been a lot of confusions about this reputable institution on how it operates, tuition/fees, ownership, mode of education, academic duration, program offered, and so on.

This website has come to do justice to all of this questions and more. Not only that but to throw more light on them and clarify any conflicting reservations anyone may be having towards the institution.

The Open University of Nigeria is owned and managed by the Federal Republic of Nigeria. Its headquarter was formerly at Victoria Island, Lagos but was moved to its permanent site, NOUN Village, Abuja in 2016.

No comments:

Post a Comment